Central Park NYC

Just a couple days ago, before my brain almost died from complaints. I was sitting in my favorite coffee shop in New York City right on 17th street, staring out the window, lurking to try to find something to hang on to. I was reaching for something authentic and a memory flashed through my mind as the bitterness of the cold reached people’s lips. –

It was one of those chilly winter days, it was Monday, and you knew snow would be coming soon. And I remember that morning I took a walk in the park with a dear friend who came from out of town. Then we were just sort of sitting around on the bench and Empire of the Sun’s “WALKING ON A DREAM” starts playing in someone’s car loud enough for us to hear it.

“Never look down. I’m just in awe of what’s in front of me/ Is it real now? When two people become one. I can feel it/ When two people become one.” – All of the sudden a song I utterly ADORE and was very, very pretty, was lingering in the air and I happened to glance over and saw more people sitting there sharing what might be the same feeling of satisfaction. I remember thinking to myself how categorically lovely this was. And I guess it was a combination of everything, the sound of the music, the shivery breeze, how faultlessly kind my friend is, how gorgeous the naked trees looked in Central Park, and for one brief moment everything just seemed to come together unfailingly perfect and I felt happy. It was perfect, almost indestructible in a way.

It’s funny now, how that simple little moment moved me in a very, very profound way. 

Winter in the City

“Excuse me for putting a good spin on a traffic jam.” – When Alec Baldwin appeared in Friends season 8.


